Welcome!

Enrich Your Travels with Longitude

We've got the classic, new and hard-to-find books and maps to help you get the most out of your adventures.

SIGN UP FOR

Longitude News

Get our monthly e-mail update

GET A

Catalog

Cod, A Biography of a Fish That Changed the World

Cod, A Biography of a Fish That Changed the World

by Mark Kurlansky

  • NATURAL HISTORY
  • 2009
  • PAPER
  • 294 PAGES

A sparkling extended essay on the cod in the tradition of Lopez or McPhee, this marvelous book looks at the importance of the cod and the codfish industry over the centuries. It is an excellent, anecdotal economic history, throwing light on Viking voyages, the Hanseatic League, Canada and the plight of fisheries in general.  (OCE10, $15.00)


Longitude provides recommended reading for travelers in partnership with the leading tour operators and travel programs for hundreds of destinations worldwide. We've got the classic, new and hard-to-find books and maps to help you get the most out of your adventures.