ENRICH YOUR TRAVELS WITH LONGITUDE

We’ve got the classic, new and hard-to-find books and maps to help you get the most out of your adventures.

Join our Mailing List
Get our bi-monthly email newsletter
Receive a Catalog

Order Your Free Catalog

Cod, A Biography of a Fish That Changed the World

OCE10
Mark Kurlansky
Penguin Putnam
2009
294
0140275010
PAPER
Natural History
0
0
0
0

A sparkling extended essay on the cod in the tradition of Lopez or McPhee, this marvelous book looks at the importance of the cod and the codfish industry over the centuries. It is an excellent, anecdotal economic history, throwing light on Viking voyages, the Hanseatic League, Canada and the plight of fisheries in general.

ISBN: 9780140275018
$16.00
Product Tags (Keywords)

General Reviews

General reviews from GoodReads users are unmoderated and do not reflect the opinion of Longitude Books.
Customers who bought this item also bought

Ice, The Nature, The History, And The Uses Of This Astonishing Substance

A thorough, engaging read about the incredibly versatile stuff that has had a fundamental effect on history, science and everyday life.
$18.00

Eyewitness Guide Boston

An exceptionally informative, visually entrancing guide to Boston.
$20.00

Empire Falls

A Pulitzer Prize-winning novel lovingly set in a fictitious Maine mill town. Russo has composed an entertaining and poignant portrait of what lies beneath the facade of small-town New England life.
$16.95

A Traveller's History of Canada

A readable and admirably concise march through Canadian history from prehistory to today, including a timeline.
$14.95